BookMark 1: Naylor’s The Women of Brewster Place

Let me begin by saying that I am a painfully slow reader. Painfully. I cringe during every social conversation I have about books, and the amount of time it takes me to finish one. My friends fly them through them with lightening speed, while I crawl through the pages sopping up every, single word. But, I have come to accept my tortoise-like posture when it comes to reading. My final word is that I’m a connoisseur of language; I swish the words around in my mind to tease out every hint of intent, meaning and feeling it implies.

Gloria Naylor's The Women of Brewster Place. Join me for my first, live Periscope discussion Tuesday, August 12 at 12:15 p.m. CST!
Gloria Naylor’s The Women of Brewster Place. Join me for my first, live Periscope discussion Tuesday, August 11 at 12:15 p.m. CST!

I can’t contain my excitement for what I’m about to embark on with my BookMark reading discussions! For years, I’ve tried to create, start, join, or conjure up a book club of some sorts. It has never worked out for me. So, I’m starting a virtual book club of my own…reading at my speed, choosing books that I’ve always wanted to read or revisit, and discussing them with my favorite folks and with anyone who would like to spend some time discussing them with me. No pressure. No constraints. No rules. No food to prepare. Only me, my book, and anyone that wants to come along for the ride.

Join me for my first, live Persicope discussion on Gloria Naylor’s The Women of Brewster Place, Tuesday, August 11 at 12:15 p.m. (CST)! I’ll have a special guest join me! You can download Persicope from your app store, and follow YoungUrbanMommy. I’ll also take questions on Twitter during the discussion! I really hope you’ll join me!

Leave a Reply

