Decisions, Decisions, Decisions: Deciding to Do Things Differently

The decisions that you make and the actions that you take upon the Earth are the means by which you evolve. At each moment you choose the intentions that will shape your experiencesand those things upon which you will focus your attention. These choices affect your evolutionary process. This is so for each person. If you choose unconsciously, you evolve unconsciously. If you choose consciously, you evolve consciously. – Gary Zukav, The Seat of the Soul

Recently, I have been trying to complete Gary Zukav’s amazing bestseller The Seat of the Soul.  After seeing his interview on Oprah, and hearing his dialogue on the body and soul, I had to immerse myself in the literature.  I knew, going in, that this would not be a leisurely, easy read.  It was going to require a present state of mind, and a willingness to confront the “ugly” aspects of my life.  Spirit work is never easy.  As I continue to press forward through the book,  I am constantly forced to see my life and my actions in the active tense (in contrast to the passive).  Zukav is an advocate of the active state of mind and active conscious;being present and conscious of the actions and decisions that we make (even the thoughts we think).

Today, I realize that I have made an active choice to do things differently.  Upon transitioning out of a relationship, and embarking upon being a single mother, I decided that I had to change my mind about the way I see my life and the experiences that I “wish” to have.  I began to realize that it wasn’t enough to hope for change, but I actualy had to be the change that I wanted to see.  I had to actively make decisions that would place me in the position that I wanted to be in.  Now this concept is simple, right?  Of course!  However, the intention, and course of action that follows requires the force of the spirit to master the carnality of the body – hard job.

As I sit and write this, I know things are different and will continue to be different if I remain conscious.  Even the simple act of consciously choosing makes all the difference.  For instance, the simple act of enjoying a conversation – being present, and in the moment can make a significant differenc in the experience.  The tone goes from unconsciuosly having dinner at a friend’s house to consciously anticipating the fellowship, conversation and mere presence of a dear friend – your anticipation heightens and a new outlook on the experience is born! It’s almost amazing that this state of being was simply a choice!

Well, let me drop a line about my Challenge: Today was great, and I decided to do things differently.  I mixed up a delicious shake: Few slices of banana, baby carrots, and OJ.  It was so good!

Leave a Reply

